Most agents politely answer with “take a pass” or “not a fit for our program.” Last week, a literary agent actually gave me a personal letter with advice. Rachel McMillan told me that my novel was too short and would be hard to pitch to publishers at that length.

I should add it was STILL too short as I had seen industry data for word length and had expanded the story. I guess the fiction market shifts. People read ‘airport books’ and want their money’s worth. There must be a page-price ratio or some secret sauce.

Her honest, encouraging feedback took me by surprise.. Here was a rare, refreshing rejection. I did rejoice.

Ironically, most non-writers and family members expect that an agent or a publisher will provide all kinds of services or ideas. (The same armchair commentators usually stop short of free manicures.)

Welcome to the digital zeitgeist

As a freelance translator, I know the feeling. You must explain life on the wild frontier. Few professionals will give you the time of day. Perhaps you’ve noticed that there’s just too much out there and too much going on. Who is reading what, how and where? The questions don’t change, but the literary marketplace does.

Yes, industry newsletters deliver the latest bestseller statistics. Blogs provide advice, frequently with extra bonus offers at special prices. (Self- or co-publish? Write a review!)

As a writer, I must do the work. Keep showing up, or one of those popular phrases. Staying motivated takes effort. The same tasks: counting words, rearranging chapters, revising, and querying keep me busy. One joy is the background research. I find nuggets to check or insert.

Rejection German Proverb
Photo by Skylar Kang on Pexels.com

INSERT HERE one of those useful German phrases about the path or the journey and if it doesn’t kill me… ;)

Well, not only does research make my writer’s journey more enjoyable, it makes me a better trivia or pub quiz team member.

Photo by Ann H on Pexels.com

3 thoughts on “Rejoice over Rejection (with Feedback)

Leave a comment